Chapter 21. Projects

Table of Contents

21.1. Overview
21.1.1. Understanding OfficeClip Projects
21.1.1.1. Accessing Projects
21.1.1.2. Creating Projects
21.1.2. Viewing Project Details
21.1.2.1. Modifying a Project
21.1.2.2. Accessing Accounts
21.1.2.3. Creating Accounts
21.1.3. Viewing Account Details
21.1.3.1. Modifying Account Lists
21.1.4. Permission and Ownership of Accounts
21.1.4.1. Permission of Accounts
21.1.4.2. Ownership of Accounts
21.1.5. Allocating Projects
21.1.6. Allocating Users

21.1. Overview

The OfficeClip Projects application is used to manage effectively client accounts and the projects that go along with them.

21.1.1. Understanding OfficeClip Projects

The following describe some of the main features and uses of the application:

  • Accounts, such as a client account, are created; then projects are created within the account, as needed.

  • Details entered into accounts and projects allow users to track the progress of the project and its various components (such as the budget), and also view and update any account information over the life of the project.

  • Project information such as jobs, customers, and service items can be imported from a QuickBooks Timer file.

  • The administrator can allocate multiple users to an account and project at one time.

21.1.1.1. Accessing Projects

  1. Log in to OfficeClip.

  2. Click HRM > Projects > Project List

21.1.1.2. Creating Projects

Projects are created within the accounts that are either made within the OfficeClip Projects application or Contact Manager application. The administrator can allocate users to various projects of an account.

  1. A Project List page is displayed when you click on Projects.

  2. An account can be chosen from the Select an Account drop down list, which will list all the projects for that account.

  3. Click on the New Project button to create a project within the selected Account.

  1. Enter the project information as needed; fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required, the project must be given a Name and a Screen Name (the Name can be abbreviated for entry screens).

  2. Checkmark the box Allocate project to all members to allow all users to see this project on their timesheet.

  1. Check Send email notification to all members to let all users know of the creation of this project.

  2. Click Save when finished or press Cancel to exit without creating a new project.

21.1.2. Viewing Project Details

Project Details can be viewed by clicking on the details icon at the left side of each project or by double-clicking on a row.

21.1.2.1. Modifying a Project

You can edit projects to keep information about the project, such as the budget and the percent complete, up-to-date and relevant.

  1. Click on the Project List link at the top to display all the projects. Select the project you want to modify from the list.

  2. Click on the project name or the icon (in the Actions column) to view the details of the project.

  1. Under the Actions column, click on the icon and fill in the fields where you want to make changes. Click Save when finished, or Cancel to exit without saving.

  2. To delete a project completely, click the Remove button under the function column.

  3. Press the Back button to return to the main Project List.

21.1.2.2. Accessing Accounts

  1. Log in to OfficeClip.

  2. Click HRM > Projects > Accounts

21.1.2.3. Creating Accounts

Accounts are customers for whom projects are executed. The New Account screen allows you to enter account details for a client, such as address and company information. Creating accounts allows you to create projects within that account. The administrator can also allocate users to an account.

  1. To create a new account in OfficeClip Projects, click the New Account button from the button bar.

  1. This screen allows you to put in as many details about the account as needed. The fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required. Account information can include Name, Number, Primary Contact, address, company, and other information.

  1. Click on Save when finished or press Cancel to exit without saving.

21.1.3. Viewing Account Details

Account Details can be viewed by clicking on the details icon at the left side of each account or by double-clicking on a row.

21.1.3.1. Modifying Account Lists

Modifying an account enables you to make changes to the account information of a client, keeping your accounts organized and manageable.

  1. To modify an existing account, click the Account List button on the button bar. Select the desired account from the Account List by clicking on it.

  2. Click on the icon.

  1. In the Action column, click Modify to make changes to the account, Delete to remove the account, Export to open and save the account in a vCard file, or Back to return to the main Account List.

  2. If you have clicked Modify, fill in the fields you want to change then press Save, Delete to remove the account, or Cancel to return to the main Account List without saving any modifications to the account.

21.1.4. Permission and Ownership of Accounts

21.1.4.1. Permission of Accounts

You can change the Read, Write, Append, and Delete status of an account. By default, unless changed by an administrator, only the creator of the account has full access to it; all other users have Read only access. The creator (or administrator) can change the access others have by changing the permissions.

To see the detailed description for changing permission of accounts, click here.

21.1.4.2. Ownership of Accounts

You can change ownership of an account in the Ownership section of the Edit Account screen.

To see the detailed description for ownership of accounts, click here.

21.1.5. Allocating Projects

OfficeClip administrators can assign projects and accounts to users in the organization. When allocated, only a subset of the entire project list will be seen by the employee when doing their timesheet.

To allocate projects to users:

  1. Click HRM > Projects > Allocate Projects

  2. Select the Userfor the project to be allocated.

  1. When you select a user, all the projects are listed in the Available Projects list.

  2. Select the projects to be displayed or removed by clicking the project. Holding down the Ctrl key allows you to select more than one project. Click the button to move the selection to the Allocated Projects section or the button to move the selection to the Available Projects section. Click to move all the selection to the right and click to move all the selection to the left.

  3. Finally, click Save to allocate them to the user.

21.1.6. Allocating Users

OfficeClip administrators can allocate user of an organization to one or more projects.

  1. Click HRM > Projects > Allocate User

  2. Choose the Account/Project from the drop down screen. The screen displays users that can be assigned to that project.

  1. When you select a project, all the users are listed in the Available Users list.

  2. Select the users to be displayed or removed by clicking the Users. Holding down the Ctrl key allows you to select more than one user. Click the button to move the selection to the Allocated Users section or the button to move the selection to the Available Users section. Click to move all the selection to the right and click to move all the selection to the left.

  3. Finally, click Save to allocate them to the user.