12.2.6. Modifying Documents/Folders

In this section we can rename, delete, lock or unlock documents.

12.2.6.1. Deleting Documents and Folders

This feature allows the user to remove files and folders from the Document application. It will delete a file/folder from the desired location; however, if the file is also in another folder location, it will not be removed from that location.

  1. To delete a document or folder, select the checkbox next to the document name from the Document List screen and click the Delete button. Alternatively, you may first click the folder or document to see details and then click the Delete button.

  2. A safety screen will display the content details allowing you to confirm deletion of the selected documents or folders. Click Delete to continue or Cancel to not delete. Click Finished on the final screen.

12.2.6.2. Renaming Documents and Folders

  1. To change the name, keywords or description of a document, go to the Document List screen. Under the Actions column, click the icon.

  2. A window displays the file name details. Enter a file name in the New Name box. Click Rename to finish or Cancel to exit without renaming the document or folder.

[Note] Note

A file cannot be renamed if it is locked. Unlock the file by clicking the icon.

12.2.6.3. Downloading Documents

  1. To download a document, go to the Document List screen, under the actions column, and click the icon. You can see the document downloaded; save it in the desired folder.

  2. You can also lock the document and then download it. For this, click the icon under the Actions column.

12.2.6.4. Locking and Unlocking Documents

Locking a document is useful for situations in which two or more people are working on the same document. If a document is locked and then downloaded, another user who downloads it in order to make changes will not be able to re-upload the document until the initial user uploads and unlocks it. This prevents one user's changes from writing over another user's changes.

  1. Users can directly see the lock/unlock status of their documents from the Actions column in the main screen.

  2. If you would like to lock a document, go to the Document List screen. Under the Actions column, click the icon to lock the document.

  3. The newly locked document will show the icon, allowing you to easily unlock it by clicking the icon. If you would like to reverse the status, simply re-clickthe icon.

  4. In addition, under the Actions column, you may click the corresponding documents icon. In the pop-up screen, you may view the document's properties and details before locking. Press Lock to proceed with locking, View/Download to view the document, or Cancel to exit the pop-up screen.

[Note] Note

A file cannot be renamed if it is locked. Unlock the file by clicking the icon, and then click the icon to rename.

12.2.6.5. Changing Permissions

You can also change the permissions of a document.

  1. To change permissions, click on the icon.

  2. On the folder properties page, click Permissions.

  3. For detailed description on changing permissions, click here.