11.3.14. Permission and Ownership of Contacts

11.3.14.1. Permission of Contacts

You can change the Read, Write, Append, and Delete status of a contact. By default, unless changed by an administrator, only the creator of the contact has full access to it; all others have Read only access. The creator can change the type of access others have by changing the permissions.

To change the Permission of a contact:

  • From the Contact List, click on the Contact Details icon or double-click the contact whose permission you want to change.

  • Click Change Permissions under the Ownership section of the Contact Summary screen to edit the permissions associated with the contact.

  • In the screen that pops up, you can see the access that various users have and you can change the access by clicking the icon to the left of the user name.

  • Check the appropriate boxes based on the permissions needed and click Save when finished, or Cancel to return to the previous screen.

  • To see the users for a user-defined role, click the icon next to the role you want to view.

11.3.14.2. Ownership of Contacts

You can change ownership of a contact in the Ownership section of the Edit Contact screen.

To change the Ownership of a contact:

  • From the Contact List, click on the Contact Details icon or double-click the contact.

  • Click Re-Assign under the Ownership section of the Contact Summary screen.

  • Select a user to Assign Ownership to from the drop-down list and, if you want to send the user an email notification, check the box.

  • Press Save when finished or Cancel to exit.