6.4.5. Rules

Note: This feature is only available in the Enterprise Edition of OfficeClip.

Administrators can set rules for accounts to trigger certain events based on conditions of the accounts. Rules have the following components:

There are three kinds of rules in Accounts:

6.4.5.1. On Screen Fields

These rules changes the fields on the New Account or Edit Account screen based on some other fields. For example, it can change the country automatically when the state is selected or changed.

To setup rules in the On Screen Fields:

  1. Click CRM > Accounts > Admin > Rules.

  2. By default, there are no rules listed. To create a rule, click the Add Rule button. If you want to edit a rule click the icon, or to remove a rule completely click the icon. To run a rule that is not active, click the icon or, to run all existing rules, click the Run All Rules link.

  1. Clicking Add Rule brings up a new window. You can choose to add conditions by clicking the Add link. This will bring up corresponding fields to fill in according to the conditions you need.

For example:

  • If you enter, if the field is Country, value is changed to India.

  • Select a condition, (Test if a field value is empty or Test if a field value is duplicate). Here, we have selected the first condition and then click on Add Condition. Here, we enter the condition if the field City is empty and then click Next to continue or Cancel to exit.

  1. On the next screen, we can select the actions (set a fixed value, set same value for the previous account, show a warning to the user) Here, we have set a fixed value and click Add Actions. We have Set field City to Pune. Click Next.

  1. On the next screen, we can see the Rule set and we have entered the rule Name as MH. The Enabled check box is automatically selected, which means the rule will be active. To make the rule inactive, uncheck the box. Click Save Rule when finished, Previous to go back or Cancel to exit without saving the rule.

  1. Now, we can see that whenever India is entered as the Country of a new account, Pune is automatically displayed as the name of City.

6.4.5.2. Workflow Rules

Workflow rules allow certain actions to be performed automatically based on an event. For example, an email can be automatically sent to an account a week after entry in the database. Sometimes this is also called Drip Marketing.

The Workflow Rules in Accounts are similar to the workflow rules in Contact Manager. To see the detailed description for the workflow rules, click here.

6.4.5.3. Access Rules

Access Rules are used to allow or restrict access to accounts when various conditions are met. For example, if the administrator wants all accounts with a certain company to be able to be accessed by all users, he/she can set up the condition: If field Company Name value is OfficeClip, give Read, Write, Append, Delete access to the All Users role.

To setup rules in the Access Fields:

  1. Click CRM > Contacts > Admin > Rules.

  2. By default, there are no rules listed. To create a rule, click the Add Rule button. If you want to edit a rule click the icon, or to remove a rule completely click the icon. To run a rule that is not active click the icon or, to run all existing rules, click the Run All Rules link.

  1. Clicking Add Rule brings up a new window. You can choose to add conditions by clicking the Add link. This will bring up corresponding fields to fill in according to the conditions you need.

For example:

  1. Here, we select a condition, if a field is set to some value, and we click on Add Condition.

  2. Then, we enter if the field Country value is India (you can enter the name of any Country you have to set rules for).

  1. Then we set Actions, or grant access to read, write, append and delete to the user. Click Add Action.

  2. Then, we can check on the boxes to indicate the specific access to be given to the user.

  1. On the next screen, we can see the Rule set and we have entered the rule Name as MAH. The Enabled check box is automatically selected, which means the rule will be active. To make the rule inactive, uncheck the box. Click Save Rule when finished, Previous to go back or Cancel to exit without saving the rule.

  1. Finally, in the Account list of the accounts, when we click on ChangePermission, we can see the access we have granted to the user.